A lot of us rely so much on Google photos to the point of even if we lost our smartphone or devices, we always have the assurance that our photos and videos can be retrieved from Google photos.
However, something is changing, Google is changing its policy of unlimited photo storage beginning from 2021, you’ll no longer be able to do free back up of your photos, videos, or any other files on Google.
Starting from June 1, 2021, any files uploaded to Google Photos will be counted towards the 15GB default storage that you get with every new Google account. If you have a Google One subscription, then it will be counted towards that.
It simply means that Google will start charging you once you exceed the 15GB on your Google drive attached to your account.
Previously, only images uploaded in the uncompressed ‘Original’ quality preset would be counted towards your storage space, while images uploaded in the compressed ‘High’ quality preset were free. From June 1, all images will be treated as equal.
Things You Must Know About the New Policy
1. First of all, all images uploaded before June 1, 2021, will not be counted. This change only applies to images uploaded after the date.
2. This doesn’t mean you will be required to pay immediately on June 1, 2021. If you are not using your full free 15GB that comes with every Google account, you can keep uploading till that gets filled up. Once that happens, you will have the choice to subscribe to one of the Google One plans if you plan to keep uploading.
3. If you are inactive on the service for over two years or over your storage limit for over two years, then Google may delete your content across multiple services.
4. Pixel phone users are excepted, as they will continue to receive free, unlimited backup of their photos and videos for the stipulated period.
5. Once you exceed your free 15GB, your charges will start at $1.99 / month for 100GB and has tiers going through 200GB ($2.99 / month), 2TB ($9.99 / month), and up to 30TB ($149.99 / month).
Users are angry and currently insulting Google against the new policy on social media.
This change applies to all users of Google Photos across all platforms, including Android, iOS, and desktop.